This is the "Home" page of the "Great Alaskan Earthquake - 1964" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Search the Catalog Image Map Chugiak-Eagle River Branch Gerrish-Girdwood Branch Mountain View Branch Loussac Library Home My Library Account Kids, parents, educators and caregivers Teen Programs ebooks, audio and more Research Library Events Calendar Support your Library About the library Contact Us Muni Home

Great Alaskan Earthquake - 1964   Tags: 1964, alaska, earthquake, good friday  

Resources about the 1964 Great Alaskan Earthquake, Good Friday, March 27, 1964.
Last Updated: May 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.anchoragelibrary.org/1964GreatAlaskanEarthquake Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Internet Archive

Department of Defense: "Alaskan Earthquake: Story of the 1964 Alaska Earthquake and Its Tragic Effects" (1966)

 

Alaska's Digital Archives

Alaska's Digital Archives

Alaska’s Digital Archives' purpose is to provide a single easy to use location for institutions across this state to share their historical resources.

Using Advanced Search, try search term "1964 earthquake" plus terms such as "photograph," "film clip", or "oral history".

 

DVDs

Though the Earth Be Moved
Call Number: DVD N 551.22 THOUGH
Tells the story of the 1964 Alaskan earthquake that devastated 50,000 square miles of land, cost 115 lives, and inflicted extensive damage to cities in the aftermath of shock, fire, and seismic waves. See actual footage of the effects of this earthquake in Alaska as it happened and the days that followed.

Earthquake! (Nova)
Call Number: DVD 551.22 EARTHQU
Examines what we know and don't know about earthquakes. Includes still and moving images of major earthquakes such as the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the 1964 Alaska earthquake and the 1989 California earthquake.

 

Books about the 1964 Earthquake

Cover Art
Bad Friday - Lew Freedman
ISBN: 1935347241
Available at Anchorage Public Library N 363.3495 FREEDMA

Available at UAA/APU CL, Anc Museum QE535.2.A4F74 2013

Cover Art
The Days the Trees Bent to the Ground: Stories from the ’64 Alaska earthquake - Janet Boylan
ISBN: 1594330212
Personal quake narratives

Available at Anchorage Public Library N 551.22097983 DAY THE

Available at UAA/APU CL QE533.D39 2004

Cover Art
North to the Future - Dermot Cole
ISBN: 9780980082531
See Chapter 5, “The 1964 Good Friday Earthquake.

Available at Anchorage Public Library N 979.8 COLE

Available at: ARLIS, UAA/APU CL, Anc Museum F910.C64 2008

Ashes and Water - Prepared by the Kodiak Historical Society
Eyewitness accounts of the 1964 Good Friday earthquake and tidal wave, as well as of the 1912 Mt. Katmai eruption

Available at Anchorage Public Library N 979.8304 ASHES

Available at ARLIS, UAA/APU CL, Anc. Museum F912.K8A83 1976

Alaska Earthquake, 1964: Where were you? - Joy Griffin (Editor)
Recollections of the earthquake by Homer residents, compiled on its 30th anniversary

Available at Anchorage Public Library APL N 551.22 ALASKA

Available at UAA/APU CL, Anc. Museum QE533.A497 1996

Stumpy's diary, 1964: A year in the life of an Anchorage family: And what a year! - Sewell Faulkner
Recollections of quake and aftermath

Available at Anchorage Public Library N 917.983 FAULKNE

Available at UAA/APU CL, Anc, Museum F914.A5F28 1987

 

Books for Young Readers

The Alaskan earthquake, 1964 - Patricia M. Garny
Describes the event and aftermath. From series, “Great events of our Times, 1973

Available at Anchorage Public Library J-N 979.8 Garny

Alaska Woman - Genevieve Gray; Nance Inderieden (Illustrator)
Fictional account of a 12-year-old babysitter who survives the quake with and is responsible for the safety of herself and her two charges.

Available at Anchorage Public Library J-N Gray

Available at UAA/APU CL Alaskana PZ7G7774 Al

Cover Art
Earthquakes: The Science Behind Seismic Shocks and Tsunamis - Alvin Silverstein; Virginia B. Silverstein; Laura Silverstein Nunn
Call Number: J 551.22 SILVERS
ISBN: 0766029751
Available at Anchorage Public Library J 551.22 SILVERS

Cover Art
Tsunamis: Giant Waves from the Sea - Timothy Kusky
ISBN: 9780816064649
Available at Anchorage Public Library J 551.4637 KUSKY

 

Anchorage Museum

Riskland: Remembering the 1964 Earthquake

On view April 11 through September 14.

To mark the 50th anniversary of the 1964 Good Friday earthquake, this exhibition looks at this devastating event, the reconstruction efforts that followed, and our earthquake preparedness today. Highlights include videos chronicling earthquake survivors’ personal accounts of the disaster. Exhibition also includes hands-on activities and  historical photographs and artifacts from the Anchorage Museum collection.

 

Books about Tsunamis

Cover Art
The Science of Ocean Waves: ripples, tsunamis, and stormy seas - J. B. Zirker
ISBN: 9781421410784
Examines properties and physics of waves worldwide. Includes Indonesian 2004 tsunami and 1964 Alaska earthquake.

Available at Anchorage Public Library 551.463 ZIRKER

Available at ARLIS GC221.2.z57

Tsunamis Affecting Alaska 1737-1996 - James F. Lander
Available at Anchorage Public Library N 551.47

Available at UAA/APU Consortium Library GC222.A4 L36 1996


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip