Latest Loussac Renovation Update
August 20, 2015
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
ZJ Loussac Public Library Closure
Scheduled for September 30 - October 7, 2015
July 13, 2015
PARKING — The new parking lot entrance is open off Barrow St.!
Remember handicapped parking spaces are located in front of the library entrance on Sharrock Way, accessible by Denali St. There are additional handicapped parking spaces in the small parking lot on the east side of the building.
NOISES — There will continue to be loud noises mainly on the 2nd floor for the structural steel erection which will be the outline of the extension of the 2nd floor for the conference rooms and the roof of the book drop. Please ask for ear protectors if needed. Take a minute to look at the changes and imagine what will be possible in just a few short months!
SCHEDULE — The construction schedule runs from 7am - 4pm pm, Mon. - Fri. and occasionally on Sunday. NO CONSTRUCTION WORK ON SATURDAYS.
July 6, 2015
The new parking lot entrance will open Friday, July 10 according to the new schedule. Be aware that
Handicapped parking spaces are located in front of the library entrance on
There will continue to be loud noises on the 2nd floor as they punch through the walls for the new conference rooms. Please ask for ear protectors if needed.
We appreciate your patience during the challenges this construction will inevitably bring. The end result will be worth it! TIME YOUR VISIT—The construction schedule runs from 7 am‐4pm, M‐F, and occasionally on Sunday. NO CONSTRUCTION WORK ON SATURDAYS.
June 30, 2015
NEW PARKING LOT ENTRANCE to open on July 8th. Until then please continue to access the lot via 40th Avenue off Denali by the parking for Cuddy Family Park, or use the small eastern parking lot off Denali. Handicapped parking is available on the northwest side.
WATER — There are two pits that are being used to accommodate the water discharge from bringing the fire hydrants up to grade.
NOISE — There will be increased noise this week on level 2 as the contractors cut holes for the new doors to the new conference rooms. Please ask for ear protectors if you need them.
PATRONS — Thank you for your patience with the construction and the various detours and book drop closures that are necessary. We are committed to keeping the Library open, accessible and safe!
June 23, 2015
HANDICAPPED PARKING — Handicapped parking spaces are located in front of the library entrance on
OUTSIDE BOOK BINS CLOSED — The outside book bins, located in the staff parking lot, will remain locked during Loussac Library’s open hours due to safety concerns due to excess traffic. The bins are open daily before 10 am. This situation should be resolved by the end of October with the opening of the drive‐by book drops which are part of the new addition to the southwest wall of the library.
THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATIENCE — Remaining open during the renovation of Loussac is challenging for staff and library visitors alike. The contractors are working with the project manage and staff to keep disruptions to a minimum. However, the transformation of this beloved building is a huge project that will last continue for a year and a half. We appreciate your patience during the challenges this construction will inevitably bring.
TIME YOUR VISIT — The construction schedule runs from 7am - 3:30pm, Mon-Fri and occasionally on Sunday. NO CONSTRUCTION WORK ON SATURDAYS.
June 10, 2015
EXPECT LOUD NOISE ON LEVEL 2 — Laborers will be cutting the concrete on level 2 behind the temporary walls. Protect your hearing. Use earplugs. Ask for them at the public service desks. Children’s programs will be moved to the Wilda Marston Theatre or outside in good weather during noisy periods.
CHANGES IN FICTION — Due to work in the ceiling of the level 2 adult fiction area, access to a portion of the collection will be limited for approximately one day. Staff in safety gear will retrieve titles from the temporarily closed stacks for patrons.
NEW Fiction has moved from level 2 to level 3, on the shelves where the NEW Non-fiction was located. NEW Non-fiction has moved to the shelves under the windows to the right of its former location. Russian language books have moved to under the windows on the SW wall with the other foreign language collections.
DO NOT USE OUTSIDE BOOK DROPS — Due to increased traffic and safety concerns, Loussac’s outside book drops are closed to the public during open hours. OUTSIDE BOOK DROPS CAN BE USED WHEN LOUSSAC IS CLOSED. This temporary measure may end as early as November
WATCH CHILDREN — With construction ongoing in public areas, it is vital that children are watched carefully both in the library and on library grounds, to avoid injury or getting lost. Children 8 and younger MUST be supervised at all times by an adult or a youth 14 or older.
LOUSSAC IS OPEN — Despite the construction, Loussac continues its regular,seven-day-a-week schedule: M-Th, 10am-9pm, Fri-Sat 10am-6pm. Sun 1-5pm. Entrances on the ground floor and at the top of the outside stairs can be used.
SW SIDE OF BUILDING — Workers are preparing the ground for the foundation of the level 1 extension which will house staff workrooms and the indoor, drive-up bookdrops.
June 3, 2015
DO NOT USE OUTSIDE BOOK DROPS — Due to safety concerns for staff and the public, as of Monday, June 8, Loussac book drops will be closed to the public during open hours. All inside book drops remain open during open hours.
OUTSIDE BOOK DROPS CAN BE USED WHEN LOUSSAC IS CLOSED. This is a temporary measure during Phase 1 of the construction.
LOUSSAC IS OPEN — Despite the construction, Loussac continues its regular, seven-day-a-week schedule:
Sun 1-5pm. Entrances on the ground floor and at the top of the outside stairs can be used.
WATCH CHILDREN — with construction ongoing in public areas, it is vital that children are watched carefully both in the library and on library grounds, to avoid injury or getting lost. Children 8 and younger MUST be supervised at all times by an adult or a youth 14 or older.
SHARROCK ROAD — CLOSED from Barrow Street to the Alaska Collection bridge. Handicapped parking on Sharrock next to Loussac and small parking lot off Denali is OPEN.
PREPARE FOR LOUD NOISE AND BUILDING VIBRATING — Construction will run approximately 7:30 am-5:30 pm, M-F. Sunday schedule not yet decided.
NO CONSTRUCTION WORK ON SATURDAYS. Ask for earplugs at the service desks if needed.
SW SIDE OF BUILDING — Workers are preparing the ground for foundation of extension of the first level to accommodate staff workrooms and the inside, drive by book drops.
SW 2ND FLOOR — With the completion of temporary walls, construction on two meeting rooms is underway.
May 20, 2015
WATCH CHILDREN—With construction ongoing in public areas, it is vital that children are watched carefully both in the library and on library grounds, to avoid injury or getting lost. Children 8 and younger MUST be supervised at all times by an adult or a youth 14 or older.
BOOK DROPS MOVED 90 degrees—Use caution when dropping off books and following the new traffic pattern through the Staff Parking Lot.
BUILDING WALLS LEVEL 2—Walls under construction in former fiction area.
SW OUTSIDE WALL DEMOLITION—Workers using jackhammers to take down wall for expansion.
ONGOING LOUD NOISE AND BUILDING VIBRATING— If noise becomes an issue, request a pair of ear plugs at service desks on levels 2 and 3.
2 SW EXITS CLOSED—The stairwell at the end of the Assembly hallway on level 1 and the Emergency Exit above it on level 2 are CLOSED. They are marked with a candle stick, an X yellow/black caution tape and a sign No Exit. Please look for nearest exit as these are no longer options in case of building evacuation.
Construction will run from 7 am-5:30 pm, M-F. Sunday schedule not predetermined. NO CONSTRUCTION WORK ON SATURDAYS.
May 16, 2015
FICTION RELOCATED—Adult fiction (novels) and LargeType moved to level 3. New fiction and other genres remain on level 2.
RENOVATION GROUNDBREAKING—Shovels hit the dirt Friday, May 15 at 9 am to resounding applause.
SECURITY OFFICE—Renovation on level 2 is anticipated to continue for another month.
PHASE ONE CONSTRUCTION BEGINS MAY 19. Watch for these changes:
- Access to the Loussac public parking lot on the south end ONLY via 40thAvenue off Denali Street.
- SHARROCK WAY HAS CLOSED from Barrow Street to the Alaska Collection bridge. Handicapped parking on Sharrock next to Loussac and small parking lot off Denali OPEN.
- SW parking lot CLOSED
- OUTSIDE BOOK DROP BINS are being moved to employee parking lot. Beware traffic pattern changes.
- Parking lane next to Barrow Street closed for use as construction staging area.
- Public Conference Room, level 1, not available for meetings, rental, or programs. Check schedule for new locations.
PREPARE FOR LOUD NOISEAND BUILDING VIBRATING—Construction will run approximately 7:30 am‐5:30 pm, M‐F. Sunday schedule not yet decided. NO CONSTRUCTION WORK ON SATURDAYS.
About Your Library
About Your Library
- Fiction Books-Best sellers, popular genre and the classics.
- Nonfiction Books- Covering a wide range of subjects.
- Large Type Books - Some popular fiction, nonfiction and children's.
- Media - Movies, music and audio books.
- Youth - Picture books, fiction, nonfiction, magazines, and media for pre-schoolers to young adults.
- Periodicals - Some major newspapers and popular magazines.
- Research - Database access to articles in magazines, journals, newspapers, and other resources.
- Downloadables - Ebooks, audiobooks and music to download to your device anytime, day or night.
- Book Club Bags - Click here for the list of titles.
- Storypackets - Bags that contain multiple copies of a title and reading aids for young readers. Click here for more info.
Anchorage Public Library makes its facilities, services and collections accessible to meet the needs of all patrons. Library staff are always ready to assist with locating materials, operating the catalog and other equipment or reaching items from high or low shelves. Click here for more information.
Click here for the Talking Book Center.
All APL locations are Wi-Fi hotspots. Library computers with Internet access are also available at all library locations, although restrictions such as time limits do apply. Stations are offered on a first come, first served basis. Check at any reference desk for availability. In addition to surfing the Internet, you can check Web-based e-mail and use word processing. Click here for the
Printing, copying and scanning - available at all locations.
BW copy = 20 cents per page. Color copy = $1.00 per page.
BW photocopying (no color copier) = 20 cents per page.
Scanning is free, but must insert 20cents to activate, but money is returned after scanning is complete. Please bring USB flashdrive to save scanned files. Library has some flashdrive available. We take library card or ID for in-library use only. See Reference staff for assistance.
Reference librarians are available at all library locations during open hours to answer questions and assist with research needs. Telephone reference is available during Loussac Library hours at 343-2975 and choose from the menu. Click here to use Ask a Librarian to ask a question via e-mail. E-Mail questions may take up to 24-72 hours for a response.
Reference service includes providing access to information, library materials and basic assistance with library equipment (computers, copiers, scanners, printers) and electronic resources (online catalog, databases and software). Reference service does not include compiling, interpreting, or arranging information; completing forms or homework assignments; photocopying or proofreading documents; making mathematical calculations; providing legal or medical advice, child care, counseling, or crisis intervention. Reference service does not include extensive computer troubleshooting and instruction about specific applications and web sites that involve personal information.
Z.J. Loussac Library's Genealogy Reference area has many materials for beginning and researching your family history. You may access the Heritage Quest database from home with your library card number; and the Ancestry - Library Edition is accessible only on library computers. Genealogy resources and organizations in the Anchorage area include the LDS Family History Center and Anchorage Genealogy Society. Both organizations hold basic and intermediate classes throughout the year, monthly meetings, as well as day-long seminars with leading genealogists and family historians. NOTE: June 2014, the Regional Archives at NARA's Pacific Alaska Region, Anchorage office closed and moved collections to Seattle. Search NARA records online at http://www.archives.gov/research.
If you can not find an item in the library catalog, you may submit an Interlibrary Loan or ILL. We will try to find the material in another library and borrow it for you. The whole process can take 2-6 weeks. Search WorldCat to find the item you want. Use the ILL button in WorldCat to submit your
Reserve a kit that contains 8-10 copies of a book and a reader’s guide, all in a handy bag to take to your next book club meeting. Over 140 titles available! To find the Book Club Bags in the catalog, either search for the title you are interested in and look for the catalog entry with “[kit]” in the title, or search for “APL Book Club Bag” for the entire list. Book Club Bags will be available for one 6-week checkout (NO renewals). Place a hold on the kit of your choice to reserve your bag. Click here for the list of titles. Click here for the Book Club Bag brochure.
APL offers test proctoring services at Loussac Library.
Click here for test proctor scheduling procedures. Please contact Nate Howes in advance to schedule your test(s). Nate Howes voicemail: 343-2925 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Search the Catalog
Login to library account