This is the "Home" page of the "Z.J. Loussac Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Search the Catalog Image Map Chugiak-Eagle River Branch Gerrish-Girdwood Branch Mountain View Branch Loussac Library Home My Library Account Kids, parents, educators and caregivers Teen Programs ebooks, audio and more Research Library Events Calendar Support your Library About the library Contact Us Muni Home

Z.J. Loussac Library   Tags: loussac  

Last Updated: Jul 12, 2016 URL: http://libguides.anchoragelibrary.org/Loussac Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Z. J. Loussac Library

3600 Denali Street
Anchorage, AK 99503
907-343-2975

Regular Hours
Mon-Thurs 10am - 9pm
Fri and Sat 10am - 6pm
Sunday 1pm - 5pm 

Alaska Collection Hours
Mon - Sat 12pm - 6pm
Sunday 1pm - 5pm

Cafe at the Library
Mon-Thur 9:30am - 6:30pm
Fri 9:30am - 5pm
Sat 10am - 4pm
Sun 1pm - 3pm

Take a bus to Z.J. Loussac Library (corner of 36th Ave. & Denali St.)
You can reach Loussac on these People Mover Bus Routes:

History
The original Z. J. Loussac Library, located at 427 F Street, was dedicated on June 1, 1955. During the Project 80's period, Anchorage voters approved construction of a new centralized library. Upon the destruction of the old Loussac in 1981, the library was temporarily moved to 524 West 6th Avenue. The new and current Z. J. Loussac Library at 3600 Denali Street celebrated its grand opening on September 14, 1986. 

Loussac Library contains Anchorage’s Assembly Chambers on the ground floor. Library floors above house patron services, book and media collections, youth and adult programming spaces, public computers and a community Innovation Lab, a cafe, and the Alaska Collection Wing. In the quiet atmosphere of the Alaska Collection visitors can browse AK non-fiction books or DVDs, read or surf in the wood-paneled Ann Stevens Room, find books on Alaska Native history and culture, or locate articles from Alaskan newspapers on microfilm.

 

Latest Update on Loussac's Renovation Project

5/18/2016

Loussac Library will return to normal open hours beginning on Monday, May 23, 2016, when the public elevators are once again accessible.

Children's Storytime will resume at Loussac on Tuesday, May 31. The public is encouraged to check the APL event calendar online at www.anchoragelibrary.org to verify times and locations.

The Alaska Room will also reopen on May 23. We ask the public to be mindful that access may still be impacted due to ongoing construction; however, librarians are always available for your assistance.

 


 

4/28/2016
Beginning Thursday, April 28 due to construction, there is no public access to the Loussac Library 4th floor and the Innovation Lab. Please ask library staff if you have questions.


3/27/2016 ANNOUNCEMENT
   Loussac Library will have Shortened Hours beginning on Monday, April 4, 2016. New directional signage and staff will assist with your navigation through the building. Please ask if you have questions.
   Also, the Alaska Collection will be closed to the public, but reference staff can retrieve materials for patrons.  Innovation Lab on the 4th floor hours will be 12 noon-6pm, Mon-Sat, during this construction period. 







3/17/16, Absentee & Early Municipal Voting at Loussac. SEE MAP for Parking and Wilda Marston Theatre Entry!




TUESDAY, MARCH 1, 2016

Loussac Library:  Public and Handicapped Parking Map


TUESDAY, JANUARY 26, 2016

Loussac Library is open normal hours. Please use the interim entrance on the west side of the building. New outside book drops are open and available 24/7.


Announcement December 29, 2015

Join us at 9am at the top of the stairs to take one last walk down the outside stairs.

      January 19-25, 2016 - Loussac Library Construction Closure



December 2015

Week 26 - 6 months from the start. The new book drop is almost complete; the new return and handling section is being closed in and the 2nd floor meeting rooms are getting finished. 

 


October 26, 2015

ZJ Loussac Library Closure for One Day: Thursday, October 29, 2015. 
"Heat will be turned off to carry out required HVAC repairs."  Click here for press release flyer.

Branch libraries will be OPEN for regular hours.


Sept 12, 2015

The Loussac Library will now remain OPEN Sept 30-Oct 7. Click HERE for flyer.

OUTSIDE BOOK BINS CLOSED
The outside book bins, located in the staff parking lot, will remain locked during Loussac Library’s open hours due to safety concerns due to excess traffic.  The bins are open daily before 10 am; and open after 9pm.  This situation should be resolved by the end of October with the opening of the drive‐by book drops which are part of the new addition to the southwest wall of the library.  You may return materials to any APL branch location, or the UAA/APU Consortium Library.


 

July 13, 2015

PARKING — The new parking lot entrance is open off Barrow St.!

Remember handicapped parking spaces are located in front of the library entrance on Sharrock Way, accessible by Denali St. There are additional handicapped parking spaces in the small parking lot on the east side of the building.

NOISES — There will continue to be loud noises mainly on the 2nd floor for the structural steel erection which will be the outline of the extension of the 2nd floor for the conference rooms and the roof of the book drop. Please ask for ear protectors if needed. Take a minute to look at the changes and imagine what will be possible in just a few short months!

SCHEDULE — The construction schedule runs from 7am - 4pm pm, Mon. - Fri. and occasionally on Sunday. NO CONSTRUCTION WORK ON SATURDAYS.


July 6, 2015

The new parking lot entrance will open Friday, July 10 according to the new schedule. Be aware that 40th Avenue will be closed westbound on Wednesday, July 8, so you who make it to the library are to be cheered and celebrated!

Handicapped parking spaces are located in front of the library entrance on Sharrock Way, accessible by Denali St. Additional spaces are in the small parking lot on the east side of the building.

There will continue to be loud noises on the 2nd floor as they punch through the walls for the new conference rooms. Please ask for ear protectors if needed.

We appreciate your patience during the challenges this construction will inevitably bring. The end result will be worth it!  TIME YOUR VISIT—The construction schedule runs from 7 am‐4pm, M‐F, and occasionally on Sunday. NO CONSTRUCTION WORK ON SATURDAYS.

June 30, 2015

NEW PARKING LOT ENTRANCE to open on July 8th. Until then please continue to access the lot via 40th Avenue off Denali  by the parking for Cuddy Family Park, or use the small eastern parking lot off Denali. Handicapped parking is available on the northwest side.

WATER — There are two pits that are being used to accommodate the water discharge from bringing the fire hydrants up to grade.

NOISE — There will be increased noise this week on level 2 as the contractors cut holes for the new doors to the new conference rooms. Please ask for ear protectors if you need them.

PATRONS — Thank you for your patience with the construction and the various detours and book drop closures that are necessary. We are committed to keeping the Library open, accessible and safe!


June 23, 2015

ACCESS PUBLIC LOT via 40TH  Avenue — The new entrance to Loussac Library’s large parking lot is anticipated to be completed by July 8th. Until then, patrons should access the lot via 40th Avenue off of Denali Street, and north off Cuddy Family Park. (see Map below)

HANDICAPPED PARKING — Handicapped parking spaces are located in front of the library entrance on Sharrock Way, accessible by Denali. Additional spaces are roped off in the small parking lot on the left off Sharrock Way before the building. 

OUTSIDE BOOK BINS CLOSED — The outside book bins, located in the staff parking lot, will remain locked during Loussac Library’s open hours due to safety concerns due to excess traffic. The bins are open daily before 10 am. This situation should be resolved by the end of October with the opening of the drive‐by book drops which are part of the new addition to the southwest wall of the library.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR PATIENCE — Remaining open during the renovation of Loussac is challenging for staff and library visitors alike. The contractors are working with the project manage and staff to keep disruptions to a minimum. However, the transformation of this beloved building is a huge project that will last continue for a year and a half. We appreciate your patience during the challenges this construction will inevitably bring.

TIME YOUR VISIT — The construction schedule runs from 7am - 3:30pm, Mon-Fri and occasionally on Sunday. NO CONSTRUCTION WORK ON SATURDAYS.


June 10, 2015

EXPECT LOUD NOISE ON LEVEL 2 — Laborers will be cutting the concrete on level 2 behind the temporary walls. Protect your hearing. Use earplugs. Ask for them at the public service desks. Children’s programs will be moved to the Wilda Marston Theatre or outside in good weather during noisy periods.

CHANGES IN FICTION — Due to work in the ceiling of the level 2 adult fiction area, access to a portion of the collection will be limited for approximately one day. Staff in safety gear will retrieve titles from the temporarily closed stacks for patrons.

MOVED COLLECTIONS
NEW Fiction has moved from level 2 to level 3, on the shelves where the NEW Non-fiction was located. NEW Non-fiction has moved to the shelves under the windows to the right of its former location. Russian language books have moved to under the windows on the SW wall with the other foreign language collections.

DO NOT USE OUTSIDE BOOK DROPS — Due to increased traffic and safety concerns, Loussac’s outside book drops are closed to the public during open hours. OUTSIDE BOOK DROPS CAN BE USED WHEN LOUSSAC IS CLOSED. This temporary measure may end as early as November

WATCH CHILDREN — With construction ongoing in public areas, it is vital that children are watched carefully both in the library and on library grounds, to avoid injury or getting lost. Children 8 and younger MUST be supervised at all times by an adult or a youth 14 or older.

LOUSSAC IS OPEN — Despite the construction, Loussac continues its regular,seven-day-a-week schedule: M-Th, 10am-9pm, Fri-Sat 10am-6pm. Sun 1-5pm. Entrances on the ground floor and at the top of the outside stairs can be used.

SW SIDE OF BUILDING — Workers are preparing the ground for the foundation of the level 1 extension which will house staff workrooms and the indoor, drive-up bookdrops.



June 3, 2015

DO NOT USE OUTSIDE BOOK DROPS — Due to safety concerns for staff and the public, as of Monday, June 8, Loussac book drops will be closed to the public during open hours.  All inside book drops remain open during open hours.

OUTSIDE BOOK DROPS CAN BE USED WHEN LOUSSAC IS CLOSED. This is a temporary measure during Phase 1 of the construction.

LOUSSAC IS OPEN — Despite the construction, Loussac continues its regular, seven-day-a-week schedule:
M-Th 10am-9pm
F-Sat 10am-6pm.
Sun 1-5pm. Entrances on the ground floor and at the top of the outside stairs can be used.

WATCH CHILDREN — with construction ongoing in public areas, it is vital that children are watched carefully both in the library and on library grounds, to avoid injury or getting lost. Children 8 and younger MUST be supervised at all times by an adult or a youth 14 or older.

SHARROCK ROAD — CLOSED from Barrow Street to the Alaska Collection bridge. Handicapped parking on Sharrock next to Loussac and small parking lot off Denali is OPEN.

PREPARE FOR LOUD NOISE AND BUILDING VIBRATING — Construction will run approximately 7:30 am-5:30 pm, M-F. Sunday schedule not yet decided.

NO CONSTRUCTION WORK ON SATURDAYS. Ask for earplugs at the service desks if needed.

CONSTRUCTION DETAILS
SW SIDE OF BUILDING — Workers are preparing the ground for foundation of extension of the first level to accommodate staff workrooms and the inside, drive by book drops.

SW 2ND FLOOR — With the completion of temporary walls, construction on two meeting rooms is underway.


May 20, 2015

WATCH CHILDREN—With construction ongoing in public areas, it is vital that children are watched carefully both in the library and on library grounds, to avoid injury or getting lost. Children 8 and younger MUST be supervised at all times by an adult or a youth 14 or older.

BOOK DROPS MOVED 90 degrees—Use caution when dropping off books and following the new traffic pattern through the Staff Parking Lot.

BUILDING WALLS LEVEL 2—Walls under construction in former fiction area.

SW OUTSIDE WALL DEMOLITION—Workers using jackhammers to take down wall for expansion.

ONGOING LOUD NOISE AND BUILDING VIBRATING— If noise becomes an issue, request a pair of ear plugs at service desks on levels 2 and 3.

2 SW EXITS CLOSED—The stairwell at the end of the Assembly hallway on level 1 and the Emergency Exit above it on level 2 are CLOSED. They are marked with a candle stick, an X yellow/black caution tape and a sign No Exit. Please look for nearest exit as these are no longer options in case of building evacuation.

Construction will run from 7 am-5:30 pm, M-F. Sunday schedule not predetermined. NO CONSTRUCTION WORK ON SATURDAYS.


May 16, 2015   

FICTION RELOCATED—Adult fiction (novels) and LargeType moved to level 3.   New fiction and other genres remain on level 2.

RENOVATION GROUNDBREAKING—Shovels hit the dirt Friday, May 15 at 9 am to resounding applause.

SECURITY OFFICE—Renovation on level 2 is anticipated to  continue for another month.

PHASE ONE CONSTRUCTION BEGINS MAY 19. Watch for these changes:

  • Access to the Loussac public parking lot on the south end ONLY via 40thAvenue off Denali Street.
  • SHARROCK WAY HAS CLOSED from Barrow Street to the Alaska Collection bridge. Handicapped parking on Sharrock next to Loussac and small parking lot off Denali OPEN.
  • SW parking lot CLOSED
  • OUTSIDE BOOK DROP BINS are being moved to employee parking lot. Beware traffic pattern changes.
  • Parking lane next to Barrow Street closed for use as construction staging area.
  • Public Conference Room, level 1, not available for meetings, rental, or programs. Check schedule for new locations.

PREPARE FOR LOUD NOISEAND BUILDING VIBRATING—Construction will run approximately 7:30 am‐5:30 pm, M‐F. Sunday schedule not yet decided.   NO CONSTRUCTION WORK ON SATURDAYS.

 

Subscribe to Renovation Updates

 

Cafe at the Library

Cafe at the Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip