A-Z Available anywhere with Internet & a Library Card
Top | Bottom
Reference Librarians are available at all locations to assist with information and library resource needs.
Telephone Reference is available during open hours at (907) 343-2975, Extension 6.
Ask a Librarian Contact us via email (responses may take up to 72 hours).
A-Z list of library resources & databases to begin your research.
ALNcat - New site, Alaska Library Network version of WorldCat
ALNcat / WorldCat - sources for interlibrary loans.
America's News (powered by NewsBank) - Find information on topics related to business, current events, the environment, government, politics and more including newspapers, blogs, videos and web-only content featuring the Alaska Dispatch News, Anchorage Daily News, Anchorage Press, Arctic Warrior, Fairbanks Daily News-Miner, Juneau Empire, Kodiak Daily Mirror, Peninsula Clarion, Seattle Times, USA Today and more.
NEW Video: How-to Use America’s News:
Find A Topic offers access to hundreds of topics organized by category and is included with America’s News. Start by clicking on a category and a topic. Categories include business, education, the environment, health, international issues, jobs and careers, leisure activities (book reviews), people, politics and government, social issues, sports and technology.
NEW Find A Topic Video:
America's News 'Create a Personal Account' Video to save your activity—including articles, searches and viewing history—as well as create email alerts.
Alaska Digital Library at OverDrive.com- Download Audiobooks, eBooks & music. Getting Started & Help on Downloadables page.
Alaska Polar and Periodical Index [APPI] - a localized index for Alaskan newspapers, magazines, journals and newsletter articles and the polar regions. Citations only. [Date Range: 1890 - Current]
Ancestry. Library Edition. - No Remote Access.
Auto Repair Reference Center - includes most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with more than 37,000 vehicles from 1954 to present.
Biography Reference Center - more that 461,000 full-text biographies.
BrainPOP - With over 1,000 short animated movies for students in grades K-12, BrainPOP covers science, social studies, English, math, engineering, technology, health, arts, and music.
BrainPOP Español - Las películas animadas de BrainPOP en Español apoyan a maestros y estudiantes de primaria y secundaria de la manera más divertida.
BrainPOP Junior - Animated fun for kids K-3 about science, writing, social studies, health, reading, and math. Each animated movie has leveled quizzes, games, and activities.
Specialized Business Info Search - Ebsco's specialized search interface for Business Source Premier.
Consumer Health Complete - Health articles for the average person, includes drug index and reports.
Digital Pipeline home page - resources for Alaskan residents
Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Database - now called Mergent Intellect (Basic) see more below about this powerful database..
Ebsco Host - includes about 30 databases containing citations and full text publications in a variety of subject areas across magazines, newspapers, and journals. And EBSCOhost Mobile for users with mobile devices.
Gale Virtual Reference Center - Gale Encyclopedia of Law and Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
Listen Alaska (see Alaska Digital Library above).
Live Homework Help at Tutor.com - provides live one-to-one every day from 12:00pm to 2:00am Alaska Standard Time (from basic math to AP Physics)
Lynda.com - A library of the best video tutorials on the web for learning software, creative, and business skills to achieve personal and professional goals.
Mergent Intellect (Basic) - Over 70 million US private businesses, 3.5 million Canadian private businesses, over 6500 U.S. public companies, complete North American family tree details, over 12 million home base businesses, over 20 million employers in the U.S., over 400,000 employers in Canada, Veterans job search database, over 250 million North America residents, over 30 million businesses, over 245 million global private businesses and global corporate family tree details.
Morningstar - investment research
Points of View - resources that present multiple sides of an issue.
ProQuest Digital Microfilm -Digitized images of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal from 2008 to the present. There may be a six week lag time before issues are available.
SLED: A to Z Databases - Statewide Library Electronic Doorway - resources for, about, and by Alaskans.
Small Business Reference Center - Offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center - contains the full set of small engine repair manuals from Clymer http://www.clymer.com.
Testing and Educational Reference Center - Find colleges, graduate schools, career resources, resume building and test preparation materials.
TumbleBooks - These aren’t just eBooks, this is an online learning portal. Read along with picture books, chapter books, graphic novels, and non-fiction. Take interactive quiizes on the books, play learning games, and explore some of your favorite literature in a new way.
Tutor.com's Skills Center Resource Library – Tutors available from 1pm-Midnight Alaska Standard Time, and the 'Career Resource Library' is open 24/7! Links to Alaska open jobs, resume and cover letter templates, interview guidelines and much more for job seekers.
Value Line - No Remote Access. Investment research.
World Book Encyclopedia - Full access to the World Book Encyclopedia suite of online learning tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, games, eBooks, maps, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related websites.
World Book Video Tutorials - collection of video tutorials to help familiarize World Book Encyclopedia users with the resources.
WorldCat - Sources for interlibrary loans.
Top | Bottom
Alaska Talking Book Center
Although the Anchorage location has closed, Alaska’s Talking Book Center is still available for Alaska residents.
This service still provides equipment and audio content free of charge for eligible Alaskans, including shipping both ways. It’s a great service for those who have difficulty reading print. Even if your library provides large print and audiobooks, we provide some additional benefits:
There’s a huge catalog, including Alaska-related books and magazines
With large buttons and a fairly simple interface, these special machines may be easier for people with visual impairments or other physical disabilities to use
Applications and general questions should still be directed to the Alaska Talking Book Center. Ongoing service is provided through the Utah State Library for the Blind and Disabled.
For general questions about talking book services and for prospective patrons to apply for library services, contact us:
Talking Book Center
Alaska State Library
395 Whittier St.
Juneau, AK 99801
Phone: 1.907.465.1304 or 1.888.820.4525
NOTE: The toll free number is shared and may not always be answered quickly, so please use the direct number if you need to reach us quickly:
Once registered, to request books or magazines, replace broken listening machines, ask reference questions, and get help with digital, BARD, Braille and large print library materials, please contact the Utah State Library Program for the Blind and Disabled:
Utah State Library Division
Search the Catalog
Interlibrary Loan Service
During the Loussac Library closure July 5-18, Interlibrary Loan Services will continue to lend materials to the rural communities and to libraries outside Alaska. However, we will be unable to borrow materials for you, our Loussac customers, unless you are willing to pick them up at one of the branch libraries. When placing a request please indicate the branch library you would prefer: Muldoon, Mountain View, Chugiak-Eagle River or Girdwood.
Forgot your PIN? Contact ILL staff.
Interlibrary Loan staff contacts:
HOURS: Mon-Fri, 10am-3:30pm
PH: (voicemail always available): 343-2826
Interlibrary Loan Search for materials not available in the local Joint-Libraries-Catalog.
WorldCat: (new) interlibrary loan sources.