This is the "Home" page of the "Anchorage Community Workforce Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Search the Catalog Ask a Librarian Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Sign up for our Newsletter Chugiak-Eagle River Branch Gerrish-Girdwood Branch Mountain View Branch Loussac Library Home My Library Account Kids Teen Programs Downloadable programs Research Library Events Calendar Give to your Library About the library Contact Us Muni Home

Anchorage Community Workforce Resources   Tags: adults, basic computer skills, careers, fax, job, job search, jobs, public computer, resume preperation, youth  

This is a resource guide for APL staff to refer youth and adults to community workforce resources such as businnesses offering services such as public access computers, basic computer instruction, resume preperation, job searching, and more.
Last Updated: Feb 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.anchoragelibrary.org/workforce Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching for a job?

 

General Community Resources

Anchorage Youth Central - Connecting youth 13-24 with opportunities and services.

Alaska 2-1-1 -  Comprehensive list of Statewide Resources.

Veteran Services- The Alaska Office of Veterans Affairs continues to help our state's veterans and their families to improve the quality of their lives.

 

Sign up for free email account

Prior to filling our a job application or submitting a resume, you may need an email addrerss.

You may register for a free email account through one of these providers:

   Gmail - Google's online email

   Outlook - Microsoft's online email (formerly Hotmail)

   Yahoo! - Yahoo's online email

 

Testing and Education Reference Center

Testing & Education Reference Center

Build a solid foundation for your future by achieving success in high school. Prepare for high school entrance and exit exams, prepare for AP tests or practice for the GED. Build a resume, search for a college, practice for the SAT, PSAT and ACT.  Prepare for Firefighters and Law enforcement exams, cosmetology license and much more!

 

Anchorage Community Workforce Resources

Ninestar Education & Employment Services

Returning Citizens Center 1200 E St., Anchorage, AK 99501 (907) 297-5422 Main, (907) 339-9960 RCC Center

Services Offered:  Public access computers, resume preparation, serve upper teens and adults, basic computer skills instruction, ESL, GED, high school completion program.

To receive services,  Ninestar recommends becoming a client at their Returning Citizens Center first.  They have six locations Downtown, in Mountain View and Midtown Anchorage.

Alaska's People Career Center - Cook Inlet Tribal Council  Alaska Job Center

3600 San Jerinomo Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508, (907) 793-3300 Main, mhiratsuka@citci.com

Services Offered:  Public access computers, job search assistance, fax machine, copier and telephone, serve youth ages 14-21.  To receive services, clients must be Alaska Native/American Indian residing in Anchorage area.

State of Alaska Youth Job Center 

2650 E. Northern Lights Blvd., Relocatable #3 (Behind the King Career Center),  Anchorage, AK 99508, (907) 334-2587, youth.jobcenter@alaska.gov

Services Offered:  Public access computers, fax machine and scanner, serve youth/young adults ages 14-24, basic computer skills instruction, career search, interview preparation, workshops. Hours vary; call to make an appointment.

Alaska Job Center Network

Midtown Location: 3301 Eagle Street, Suite 101, Anchorage, AK 99510, (907) 269-4800, midtown.jobcenter@alaska.gov

Services Offered:  Workshops, job training, labor market information, Alaska Career Ready and Workkeys, Ticket to Work Program

Muldoon Location:  1251 Muldoon Rd., Suite 111, Anchorage, AK 99504, (907) 269-0000, muldoon.jobcenter@alaska.gov

Services Offered: Workshops,  job training, labor market information, Alaska Career Ready and Workkeys, Ticket to Work Program

Parachutes

8000 E. Dimond Blvd #216, Anchorage, AK 99515 (Dimond Center Mall), (907) 562-2932, www.parachutesalaska.com

Services Offered: Public access computers, high school/GED completion, job training program, job search assistance, resume preparation, basic computer instruction, serve youths 13-18, Tues - Sat 3-9. 

Online Collections: Jobs, Employment & Business

An Anchorage Public Library Card is needed to log-in to these most of these databases if you are not viewing the website at an Anchorage Public Library.

  • Ebsco Host Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles.
  • Ebsco Host Regional Business News
    This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Click here for a complete title list. Click here for more info.
  • Ebsco Host Small Business Reference Center
    The Small Business Reference Center is a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies. Users also have the ability to search within specific ‘Business Topics’ and ‘Business Types’ relevant to their needs.
  • SLED: Business & Commercial
    Statewide Library Electronic Doorway - Business & Commercial: Links to businesses and corporations, Chambers of Commerce and Native Corporations.
  • SLED: Job & Employment Resources
    Statewide Library Electronic Doorway - Job and Employment Resources (Alaska and General.)
  • Digital Pipeline: Testing and Education Reference Center
    is a start-to-finish resource with all the information and support materials needed to make informed, confident decisions to shape the rest of your life.

    Over 300 practice tests and courses
    Dozens of ebooks containing valuable study material and practice tests
    Information on over 4,000 accredited schools
    Scholarship search featuring $8 billion in available scholarships
    Resume builder with over 1,000 brainstorming phrases to get you started
    Career modules covering subjects from career change to salary negotiations
  • Newsbank Newspaper Search
    This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip